Hello everyone! I am a noob!

Hey everybody. I’m very inexperienced with game design but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve done in the past. (001 RPG Maker). I’ve been wanting to make a platformer for a long time, and this seems like the simplest way for me to do it.

I’ve been struggling with it a bit already, but is there an in depth tutorial for platformers I can take a look at? The built-in tutorial doesn’t cover a ton of stuff, like how to add enemies and make them damage you, how to change levels, etc.

I appreciate any help! Thanks.

-calvinlld

Hi and welcome :slight_smile:
There are other articles in the wiki and videos for specific tasks, but changing level is through scene switching, and for enemy’s damage you have to check collisions under certain conditions (for example you collide with an enemy but you aren’t jumping).

Just to clear things up, the platformer behaviour in GD help you only to setup the controls and movement of a platformer game but everything else need to be done from scratch. Unlike in 001 where everything is already set including AI, damage, health, weapons, items…etc and you only need to play with values , tables and options, in GDevelop you need to come up with your own solutions and your own ways of doing things by using variables, structures, loops and logic.

In GDevelop you can’t just mark a sprite to be enemy that can and will damage the player if this is what you looking for. You need to make enemy behaviour and damage system from scratch. So, no, I don’t think GDevelop is going to be easier. It is a completely different way of developing a game than 001. It may be not going to be as simple as you might think.